May 13, 2011

The Flushing branch of the Queens Library is all windows and gauzy curtains. From the outside, the vertical windows, bordered by a fluorescent-office green, are softened by the building’s oblong shape. Inside, I framed a woman who was on her cell phone.

The first thing I did on my first day there was get a library card. I borrowed three books of Chinese fables and myths. This concept of borrowing and due dates is familiar. Events at this library include readings by Queens poet laureates past and present, film screenings (tomorrow at 1 p.m., The Wedding Banquet), and seminars on urology (in Chinese). I smiled at all the librarians, who seemed startled by the attention, and then left to buy a two-dollar dinner. I’d overtipped the movers who’d helped me pack up my apartment earlier that day, so was heartened by the evening’s simple meal. Flushing is loud and dirty, and I’ll be alone here for another two weeks before my parents return from Taiwan.

One Response to “一”

  1. Beth Says:

    I’m here. And just re-read the post on Eiko and Koma and their art and your response. Will write to you, I must, I’m sorry it’s been so long.


Leave a Reply

