The Year of the Death of José Saramago (1)

July 2, 2010

I wrote a personal tribute to José Saramago for Words Without Borders.

I will be posting Part 2 in this space over the weekend.

3 Responses to “The Year of the Death of José Saramago (1)”

  1. beth Says:

    I find it hard to believe there weren`t lots of comments on this excellent essay. Thank you, Wah-Ming. I`ve read only a couple of Saramago`s books and can`t remember their titles but I remain haunted by the atmosphere they created. It`s time to read more.

    • wmc Says:

      Beth, thank you! The one to read right now, I think, is The Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis, which echoes or is echoed by our friend TC in numerous, beguiling ways (and which is close to becoming my favorite over All the Names).

      • beth Says:

        Thanks for the recommendation! I will look for it, or try inter-library loan – English language translations are not always easy to find here in francophone land.


Leave a Reply

