Apparitions (1)

August 5, 2009

There are some, I am told, who never see the dead, though I am as yet unable to believe it.* We go to sleep with them as with an ex-lover, for familiar, wordless embrace, and when we wake, understanding that another rendezvous will soon take place, the parting is unhurried, a readjustment towards day. Myself, I admit that I am no more attuned to them than a mirror is to the blind, yet over the course of several weeks in this city, I have absorbed, like a mirror, without thought or comment, the weight of Mule’s departed.

*

*This gorgeous first sentence was kindly shared by Lucas Green.

2 Responses to “Apparitions (1)”


  1. […] 2009 There are some, I am told, who never see the dead, though I am as yet unable to believe it.* We go to sleep with them as with an ex-lover, for familiar, wordless embrace, and when we wake, […]


  2. […] also this, this and […]


Leave a Reply

